Eivind Aarset

About Eivind Aarset

Since making his full-length leader debut with 1998's Électronique Noire, Norway's Eivind Aarset has established himself as an exploratory guitarist, composer, producer, and sound designer. His unique musical vision absorbs and reflects influences from many genres and approaches. Aarset's attention to detail and careful craftsmanship have resulted in recontextualizing the role of the guitar in modern creative music as evidenced by 2007's Sonic Codex and 2012's Dream Logic. 2015's I.E. showcased his vast textural and dynamic capabilities in pairing a standard rock quartet with brass and woodwinds. In 2019 he worked with percussionist Michele Rabbia and trombonist Gianluca Petrella on the improvised Lost River. A year later, in collaboration with Jan Bang, he issued the sonically dense ambient outing Snow Catches on Her Eyelashes. In 2021, Aarset returned to more conventional guitar sounds on Phantasmagoria, Or a Different Kind of Journey, leading his own quartet with special guests who included trumpeter Arve Henriksen.

    Kolbotn, Oppegård, Norway
  • BORN

Similar Artists