Singles & EPs

About Iamthemorning

A Russian progressive/chamber rock duo led by singer Marjana Semkina and pianist Gleb Kolyadin, St. Petersburg's Iamthemorning emerged in the early 2010s with a sound that fused classical, rock, jazz, and electronic influences. Since debuting in 2012, the duo has won numerous awards and garnered international acclaim. Members Marjana Semkina (vocals) and Gleb Kolyadin (keyboards) are both classically trained artists who continue to study in their respective disciplines. While Semkina and Kolyadin are the only official members of the group, they often bring in accompanists for their recording and performing projects. Taking their name from a song by Oceansize, iamthemorning made their recording debut in 2012 with an album cryptically titled ~. They signed with Kscope Records, which released their second album, Belighted, in 2014, featuring guest appearances by bassist Colin Edwin and drummer Gavin Harrison from the band Porcupine Tree. The group documented their live sound with the 2015 album From the House of Arts. In 2016, iamthemorning released Lighthouse via Kscope. Mixed by Marcel van Limbeek (Tori Amos), it was recorded in London, Moscow, and St. Petersburg. Lighthouse once again featured Edwin and Harrison as iamthemorning's rhythm section, chamber strings, and vocalist Mariusz Duda (Lunatic Soul, Riverside). In August, the recording won Album of the Year at the Progressive Music Awards. In 2018 the duo released Ocean Sounds, the soundtrack to their in-studio concert film of the same name, and in 2019 they issued The Bell, a new studio album inspired by 19th century song cycles. ~ Mark Deming

St. Petersburg, Russia
October 15, 2010

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada