About Emergency

German hard rock group Emergency originally comprised Englishman Pete Lovell on vocals plus Frans Limonard (guitar), Jos Anthonissen (bass), Hedwig Spijkers (drums) and Coen Van Hoof (keyboards). Both Anthonissen and Limonard had previously been part of Rancid (not the 90s Californian punk band) while Lovell was a former contributor to Picture. Achieving some momentum in mainland Europe with their expansive stage shows, the group signed to Ariola Records in 1989. Their debut, Martial Law, was a competent collection that failed adequately to translate their live popularity into the studio. After its release, Spijkers was replaced by former Highway Chile drummer Ernst Van Ee.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada