The Writing's On the Wall

The Writing's On the Wall

Before there was Beyoncé, singular, there was The Writing’s on the Wall, Destiny’s Child’s big break, which swaps the stately soul of their debut for futuristic beats and take-no-prisoners attitude. The slinky “Bills, Bills, Bills” and “Bug a Boo” boldly shake off deadweight dudes, while “So Good” celebrates moving onwards and upwards with dizzying vocal runs. And for all the envelope-pushing producers involved—Rodney Jerkins, Missy Elliott, She’kspere—the reins are firmly in the hands of Beyoncé and company on this self-respect manifesto: just hear their triumphant vocal interplay on "Say My Name."

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada