The White House Sessions, Live 1962

The White House Sessions, Live 1962

In the summer of 1962, innovative cool jazz composer Dave Brubeck and beloved vocalist Tony Bennett were invited to perform at the White House Seminar American Jazz Concert. Aside from the previously released Brubeck-Bennett collaboration “That Old Black Magic,” the results have been unavailable for public consumption until now. Brubeck leads his quartet, featuring his musical foil Paul Desmond on alto sax, through crowd-pleasers like “Take Five.” Bennett and his band then take the spotlight, offering renditions of “I Left My Heart in San Francisco” and other signature tunes. Yet the real highlight comes at the concert's close, as Brubeck and Bennett hit the stage together to perform four playful, off-the-cuff numbers.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada