The Mirror Man Sessions

The Mirror Man Sessions

The music that comprises The Mirror Man Sessions was not released at the time of its creation. Recorded at TTG Studios in Hollywood in 1967 — just a few months after Safe As Milk —“Tarotplane,” “Trust Us” and “25th Century Quaker” show the Magic Band fully locking into its grunting groove for the first time. For his part, Van Vliet discharges a stream of lyrics that blend blue poetry and surrealism, but even more astounding is the playing of guitarist Alex St. Clair Snouffer and drummer John French. At a time when dozens of American and British acts were getting famous by playing watered-down version of songs by Howlin’ Wolf and Muddy Waters, the Magic Band absorbed the lessons of those forefathers and formulated a whole new strain of music. It may appear tumultuous, but they are as tuned-in to each other as John Coltrane’s classic quartet. The proceedings reach a feverish climax on “Kandy Korn,” a magnificent rock ‘n’ roll song, exploding in joy and fury.

Other Versions

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada