OBSESSION - The 6th Album

OBSESSION - The 6th Album

Interest in EXO is at peak levels, thanks to a consistent string of hits like “Monster” and “Love Shot” and Baekhyun and Kai’s participation in 2019 “Jopping” side project SuperM. Yet anyone who felt their attention would be divided will have these fears allayed by their sixth album, OBSESSION. The nine-man unit sounds sharp and focused. “Trouble” examines the duality of pleasure and pain over a space-age bassline and string effects. There’s a lithe South American feel to “Groove” that compliments Baekhyun’s silky high notes. EXO’s mastery of hip-hop and R&B (“Ya Ya Ya,” “Jekyll”) and pop (“Butterfly Effect,” “Baby You Are”) shows how balanced and sophisticated their sound has become. The title track is among EXO’s best yet, with a hypnotic “A Milli”-like beat crafted by American producer Dem Jointz. “This is a story about an obsession,” EXO’s Suho tells Apple Music. “Not only those you are in a romantic relationship with, but people who tend to be obsessed with someone, even something. Just like I’m obsessed with you to make you listen to this song right now.” Done and done.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada