Hurricane (Deluxe Edition)

Hurricane (Deluxe Edition)

With a decade’s worth of hits behind her, Natalie Grant still projects a refreshing Everywoman persona as she deals with the glories and challenges of faith. Hurricane finds the Seattle-bred Christian singer leaning toward electronica sounds that give her impressive vocal gifts plenty of room to soar. Grant’s knack for personalizing Scripture-based themes is evident both in the warmth of her singing and the humble strength of her songwriting. Rousing God-centered affirmations like “Closer to Your Heart,” “This Is Love,” and the title number ride on pulsating grooves that deliver big, triumphant choruses. More nuanced but no less fervent are “Whisper” (a midtempo tune that seeks the Savior’s voice amid the static of modern life) and “Dead Alive” (an enraptured hosanna with an ‘80s-esque techno feel). “Born to Be” (a duet with Rascal Flatts’ Gary LeVox) takes Grant into country territory, while “When I Leave the Room” (cowritten with husband/producer Bernie Herms and singer/songwriter Nicole Nordeman) is a tender lullaby from parent to child. “In the End” closes Hurricane on a note of unbridled, amen-shouting joy.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada