Curtis Mayfield: Influences

Curtis Mayfield: Influences

Curtis Mayfield came of age in R&B's earliest days, giving him sterling jumping-off points for his sound. He was still in his teens when the legendary Sam Cooke released the sweetly simple ballad “You Send Me,” which clearly influenced Mayfield's romantic sincerity. Meanwhile, James Brown's fiery performance style and devotion to keeping the beat gave Mayfield touchstones for his live shows and endless funkiness.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada