Alicia Keys: Influences

Alicia Keys: Influences

Alicia Keys' earliest musical training was in classical piano, but her appreciation of classic soul also informed her R&B-leaning pop. The skyscraping choruses of “Girl On Fire” and “No One” call back to the triumph of Stevie Wonder's “As”; the splendor of “You Don't Know My Name” echoes the lush textures of Sade. Keys' vocal style draws from the work of Flack, Knight, and Gaye, whose rich, expressive singing shapes her passion.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada