The Philip Glass Ensemble

About The Philip Glass Ensemble

Composer Philip Glass was educated at the University of Chicago and the Juilliard School of Music before his arrival in Paris in 1963 as a student of Nadia Boulanger. Struck by the way Indian musicians gradually added to repeated rhythmic phrases, Glass formulated his minimal approach to composition while working with Ravi Shankar. Much of his work since has been for the stage and film, notably the operas, SATYAGRAHA (1980), AHKNATEN (1984) and WHITE RAVEN (2001), and two visually striking films with director Godfrey Reggio, KOYAANISQATSI (1983) and POWAQQATSI (1988). Glass has also written scores for numerous Hollywood movies, including HAMBURGER HILL and the Oscar nominated score of Martin Scorcese’s KUNDUN (1998).

New York, NY, United States
Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada