Portico Quartet

Artist Playlists


About Portico Quartet

British foursome Portico Quartet’s music has been labeled post-rock, ambient jazz, and any number of other compound subgenres, but there’s no denying they’ve forged a style all their own. The band came together in London in 2005 with percussionist Nick Mulvey, saxophonist/keyboardist Jack Wyllie, bassist Milo Fitzpatrick, and drummer/electronics man Duncan Bellamy, who were all schoolmates at the time. They released their first album, Knee-Deep In the North Sea, in 2007; the atmospheric, instrumental LP was duly nominated for a Mercury Prize and the band were off to the races. They shifted to Peter Gabriel’s high-profile Real World label for the 2009 follow-up, Isla. Mulvey split to follow a solo path in 2011, with Keir Vine coming in to take his place for the band’s self-titled 2012 album. In 2015, they drastically reconstituted themselves for Living Fields, employing guest vocalists, relatively conventional song structures, and more electronic beats than ever, and going by simply Portico. But the band shifted back toward their earlier sound and name for subsequent releases.

United Kingdom
Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada