Make Them Suffer

Latest Release

Music Videos

Artist Playlists


About Make Them Suffer

A dynamic Aussie extreme metal outfit, Make Them Suffer employ a punishing blend of deathcore and blackened symphonic death metal, as heard on their 2020 full-length How to Survive a Funeral. Formed in Perth in 2008 by Sean Harmanis (vocals), Nick McLernon (guitar), Richard West (guitar), Chris Arias-Real (bass), Heather Menaglio (keys), and Tim Madden (drums), the group dropped its debut EP, Lord of Woe, in 2010. A line-up change in 2011 saw Menaglio replaced by Louisa Burton, with the group issuing its first full-length, Neverbloom, two years later via Roadrunner Records. The group's sophomore outing, 2015's Old Souls, caught the attention of Rise Records, which reissued the album in 2016. That year also saw the release of the singles "Ether" and "Fireworks" in anticipation of the arrival of Make Them Suffer's third studio long-player (and official Rise debut), Worlds Apart, which dropped in 2017. That same year, the band went through more line-up changes, with Burton, Madden, and guitarist Lachlan Monty -- who had joined in 2013 -- parting ways. Harmanis and McLernon drafted in Jordan Mather (drums), Jaya Jeffery (bass), and Booka Nile (keys), with the refreshed band heading out on a world tour in 2018 in support of Worlds Apart. Toward the end of 2019, the band started work on their fourth album, with Drew Fulk (Motionless in White, Lil Wayne) in the producer's chair. Preceded by the singles "Erase Me" and "Soul Decay," the album, How to Survive a Funeral, was issued by Rise in mid-2020. ~ James Christopher Monger

Perth, Australia
April 6, 2009

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada