Larrikin Love

About Larrikin Love

London's Larrikin Love delivered an aggressive brand of folk-rock that recalled the brash energy of the Pogues with a musical accent more contemporary British than traditional Celtic (laced with traces of ska, calypso, and punk). The band also embraced a variety of poetic lyrical structures -- Oscar Wilde and George Orwell were often cited as influences -- while offering enough rock action to make them critical favorites. Formed in 2005, Larrikin Love were launched by siblings Edward Larrikin (singer and lyricist) and Micko Larrikin (guitar), joined by bassist Alfie Ambrose and drummer Coz Kerrigan; Rob Skipper, officially a member of the Holloways, was also a frequent guest at the group's shows. After early gigs led to press exposure in New Musical Express, Larrikin Love signed on with Transgressive Records, an up-and-coming indie label whose roster included the Pipettes, the Rumble Strips, Ladyfuzz, and Battle. Transgressive released Larrikin Love's first single, "Six Queens" b/w "Little Boy Lost," in the fall of 2005, and three more followed before the group's first album, The Freedom Spark, arrived in shops in September 2006, distributed by WEA. While the album received enthusiastic reviews and Larrikin Love's star was rising, clouds were forming on their horizon, and on May 4, 2007, a few days before they were to hit the road for a showcase tour with six other Transgressive acts, they posted a message on their website announcing the group had broken up, adding "all is amicable between the four members." ~ Mark Deming

London, England
Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada