Hate Dept.

About Hate Dept.

Formed in the early 90's by bandleader Seibold, Hate Dept. is equal parts repetitive industrial dance rock and hostile punk rock. A multi-instrumentalist, Seibold plays keyboards, guitar, percussion, and supplies Hate Dept.'s distorted vocals. The band's first release, meat.your.maker, was released on the Caroline subsidiary 21st Circuitry in 1994, while it's follow-up, Omnipresent, surfaced two years later. Both were strong enough to appear on Rolling Stone's Top 10 Alternative Album Chart (Omnipresent's single, "New Power," reached the top of the Alternative Press Dance Chart), while Keyboard magazine named Seilbold as Best New Talent of 1995. In the process, Seibold became a much sought after producer (Berlin, Information Society) and remixer (Smash Mouth's hit "Walking On the Sun," as well as tracks for Abra Moore, Pink Noise Test, and Articficial Noise Club). Along with guitarist Mark Greco, drummer Charles Hunt, and keyboardist Jeff Smith, Seibold and friends released their 3rd fulll-length release, Technical Difficulties, in 1999. ~ Greg Prato

Los Angeles

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada