Delta Saxophone Quartet

About Delta Saxophone Quartet

Formed in 1984 at London’s Guildhall School of Music by pupils of Stephen Trier, the group’s original personnel comprised saxophonists Chris Caldwell, Steve Cottrell, Colin Smith and Pete Whyman. The group established a reputation for performing music by a wide range of challenging composers, including Louis Andriessen, Issie Barratt, Richard Rodney Bennett, Gavin Bryars, Joe Duddell, Paul Englishby, Sergio Lopez Figueroa, Morgan Fisher, Philip Glass, Stephen Goss, Michael Nyman, Steve Reich, Terry Riley and Mike Westbrook, as well as performing music associated with Soft Machine.
The Delta Saxophone Quartet has toured extensively in the UK and has also appeared overseas, including visits to Austria, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, China, Taiwan, Russia and Uzbekistan. In the early 00s the group was Ensemble in Residence at London’s Kingston University. Changes in personnel brought in Gareth Brady and Christian Forshaw while in the mid-00s the quartet still included Caldwell and Whyman and was completed by Graeme Blevins and Tim Holmes.


Similar Artists