The Singles

The Singles

This collection (spanning 1979 to 1986) shows how The Pretenders grew as a band within a short span of time and how bandleader Chrissie Hynde, even after the overdose deaths of two band members, drew wisdom from experience. And time itself has been more than kind to The Pretenders; their cover of “Stop Your Sobbing” and the tender power of both “Kid” and “Talk of the Town” are as transformative as ever. The shuffling confessional “Don’t Get Me Wrong,” the adult-contemporary swing of “Hymn to Her,” and the self-effacement of “My Baby” all translate into beautiful telling tunes of young adulthood that you can sing to.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada