Music From Big Pink (Remastered 2000)

Music From Big Pink (Remastered 2000)

Though it grew out of jam sessions in the basement of the band’s communal house in upstate New York, Music From Big Pink lures us to otherworldly environments. “I Shall Be Released” and “In a Station” emerge from floating, celestial sounds, while “Lonesome Suzie” is a Curtis Mayfield ballad soaked in tranquilized blues. The Band’s dreamy, hymn-like undertones come to light in “The Weight,” in which the triangulated harmonies of Richard Manuel, Rick Danko, and Levon Helm forge a new form of rustic gospel goodness.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada