With the departure of keyboardist Rick Wakeman, Yes soldiered on, eventually bringing Patrick Moraz on board to add the latest in synthesizer technology to the band's assault. Relayer begins with the side-length, 22-minute "The Gates of Delirium," which is presented on the expanded edition twice, the bonus studio run- through makes for a welcomed revisit to a tune that features many jaw-dropping moments of incredulity, courtesy of the stylistic clashes between guitarist Steve Howe, bassist Chris Squire, and the newly integrated Moraz. This extra tension gives the band an unexpected edge, one that failed to impress critics and even alienated a few longtime fans, who'd grown accustomed to the group's smooth, flawless delivery. There are still plenty of virtuoso moments here — and passages of "Delirium" where the band is overly ambitious and bordering on overkill — but they come with a sharper attack. The two nine-minute tracks, "Sound Chaser" (also present as a three-minute single edit on the expanded edition) and "To Be Over," feature more intuitively aggressive performances that illustrate the group's facility with unusual time signatures and instrumental explorations.

Other Versions

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada