Reich: Sextet - Clapping Music - Music for Pieces of Wood

Reich: Sextet - Clapping Music - Music for Pieces of Wood

This bold collection is a delightful survey of the minimalist’s style. The London Symphony Orchestra Percussion Ensemble delivers here with utmost clarity and precision three highly focused, unique studies in timbre and rhythm. Clapping Music sets front-and-center Reich’s employment of “phasing,” a radical compositional technique in which similar rhythmic motifs are shifted in time between different voices, creating a staggering effect. Sextet explores the relationship between melody and accompaniment, traversing ever-changing colors and musical zones. The ensemble’s performance of Music for Pieces of Wood is so finely tuned and subtle that it almost sounds mechanical, as if the pieces of wood themselves are communicating with one another.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada