Guy (Special Edition)

Guy (Special Edition)

This eponymous 1988 debut, with its smooth grooves and funky, jazz-laced beats, helped shape the new jack swing sound. The club-ready “Don’t Clap...Just Dance” is a standout, while the sultry vocals of “You Can Call Me Crazy” echo Bobby Brown’s “My Prerogative.” “Teddy’s Jam” even has a touch of gospel—though it’s way too slick for church. At times evoking a New Edition vibe, Guy show off rich, soulful harmonies throughout, always with an eye toward romance.

Disc 1

Disc 2

Other Versions

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada