Dutch Masters

Dutch Masters

The Dutch pianist brothers Lucas and Arthur Jussen turn to music of their homeland and unearth some terrific repertoire. Dedicated to one of their early teachers, Ton Hartsuiker, who opened their ears to new music, Dutch Masters showcases seven composers’ work, ranging from Willem Pijper’s gnarly Sonata for Two Pianos (1935) to a brand-new double piano concerto, “In Unison”, by Joey Roukens, which is full of driving rhythms and the kind of virtuosity the Jussens are known for. In between come Louis Andriessen’s quirky miniatures, Séries, Leo Smit’s deliciously insouciant Divertimento, Jan Wisse’s sparkling Cristalli, Theo Loevendie’s dreamy Together (written for the brothers), and Hans Henkemans’ smile-inducing Quatre Mains.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada