Coltrane's Sound

Coltrane's Sound

Part of the same legendary run on Atlantic that included classics like Giant Steps and My Favorite Things, Coltrane’s Sound is often unfairly overshadowed. Featuring McCoy Tyner (piano), Elvin Jones (drums), and Steve Davis (bass), the music is firmly Coltrane circa 1961 with classic studio versions of the knotty “26-2,” the surprisingly groovy “Equinox,” and the hard-hitting “Liberia” helping cement his legend. He also takes the standard “Body and Soul” and the lesser-known “The Night Has a Thousand Eyes” for a ride. It's perhaps another day at the office, but few have ever operated at the level heard here.

Other Versions

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada