Coda (Remastered)

Coda (Remastered)

John Bonham’s 1980 death having called a halt to Led Zeppelin’s activities, the remaining band members made still one more offering. Coda arrived two years after the drummer’s departure, and brought together outtakes and live cuts from throughout Zeppelin’s tenure. The focus is on the massive thump the group could command at will; a compact version of Ben E. King’s “We’re Gonna Groove” might have been another outfit’s hit single, while the alternate “I Can’t Quit You Babe” finds Jimmy Page shooting out a stream of wild-eyed and -hearted ideas during his solo. The quartet careens through the punk-inspired “Wearing and Tearing” and the monster blues-rocking of “Walter’s Walk.” But there’s also an early stab at their folkie mode in “Poor Tom,” and “Bonzo’s Montreux,” a kaleidoscopic Bonham showcase lovingly remixed by Page.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada