Brahms: Cello Sonatas & Hungarian Dances

Brahms: Cello Sonatas & Hungarian Dances

Two French artists at the top of their game reunite for Brahms’ two cello sonatas, works that were written two decades apart and speak with very different voices. Cellist Queyras’ focused, tight sound makes for a more intimate experience than normal—this is real chamber music, full of insight. Tharaud, a wonderfully versatile and imaginative pianist, is a superb partner, and the pair capture the impetuosity of the First Sonata while embracing the autumnal tints of the Second. Half a dozen Hungarian Dances make for a lively bonus after the main works.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada