Bach: Sonatas & Partitas

Bach: Sonatas & Partitas

Augustin Hadelich approaches this pinnacle of the violin repertoire with an appealing blend of respect and love. But there’s also a desire to make it sound fresh and new. His use of a Baroque bow gives these works a sense of liberation—in the phrasing, in the very directness of communication, and in the German-born, US-based violinist’s ability to make this music sing. The way he voices three- and four-note chords feels wonderfully natural and unforced, which emphasizes the glorious richness of Bach’s polyphonic writing. Dance movements genuinely dance, while the more poised, inward-looking movements dig deep into the music’s unfathomable depths.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada