17 Pine Avenue

17 Pine Avenue

17 Pine Avenue is an altogether convincing effort by this legendary Bay Area group. Founding member David Nelson and longtime comrade Buddy Cage set the tone by updating the psychedelically seasoned country rock that made the band’s rep in the ‘70s. Robert Hunter (Jerry Garcia’s longtime lyricist) adds his distinctive blend of folk wisdom and hippie blarney to tunes like “Suite at the Mission,” “Fivio," and the title track. Nelson’s Dylanesque drawl and hot guitar licks give “Prisoner of Freedom” and “Six of One” the feel of classic road anthems. Singer/guitarist/producer Michael Falzarano comes through with feisty rockers like “Down for the Ride” and “Truth Is Dead,” while bassist Ronnie Penque delivers the twang-filled “Shake That Thing.” Crucial to the album is Cage’s pedal steel work, veering from plaintive murmurs to propulsive solos with a virtuosic touch. The New Riders infuse 17 Pine Avenue with easy camaraderie and ornery idealism, showing no signs of heading into the sunset anytime soon.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada