Yndi Halda

Top Songs

About Yndi Halda

Yndi Halda are a post-rock group from Canterbury, England whose lengthy compositions include sweeping strings and dramatic crescendos. The group was formed in 2001 by multi-instrumentalist James Vella, guitarist Jack Lambert, bass guitarist Brendan Grieve, violinist Daniel Neal, and drummer Oliver Newton, all of whom were students at the time. After years of playing together and developing material, they recorded their debut release during the summer of 2005. The primarily instrumental three-song EP Enjoy Eternal Bliss (which also featured bass playing by Daniel Lovegrove) was originally self-released by the band that autumn, and gained the group a following despite its limited availability. The group signed to European label Big Scary Monsters and American imprint Burnt Toast Vinyl, both of which re-released Enjoy Eternal Bliss as a full-length, including a previously unreleased song. Yndi Halda toured across Europe, North America, and Asia in support of the critically acclaimed album. In 2007, the group began performing new material that included more vocals and acoustic instrumentation. Fans had to wait several years to hear additional new material, however; the band maintained a steady touring schedule and Vella kept busy with his experimental electronic pop solo project A Lily, but Yndi Halda didn't commence recording their second album until April of 2013. Featuring new bassist Alexander Petersen, the album was finished in October of 2014, mixed in February of 2015, and released as Under Summer in March of 2016. ~ Paul Simpson

Canterbury, England

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada