We Butter the Bread With Butter
We Butter the Bread With Butter

We Butter the Bread With Butter

About We Butter the Bread With Butter

Formed in 2007 by guitarist Marcel Neumann and singer/drummer Tobias Schultka, We Butter the Bread with Butter are a German metalcore band originating in the town of Lübben. Musically a heavy mix of metalcore and deathcore with electronic elements, the band's humorous name reflected their desire to avoid the bleak, nihilistic imagery common to many metal bands of that era. They signed with German label Redfield Records in 2008 to release their debut Das Monster aus dem Schrank and began touring Germany opening for established bands like Callejon, the Parachutes, and A Day to Remember. By the time they released their 2010 follow-up Der Tag an dem die Welt Unterging, the group had swelled into a quintet with the addition of second guitarist Kenneth Iain Duncan, bassist Maximilian Pauly Saux, and drummer Can Özgünsü. Shortly after the album's release, Schultka left to focus on a career outside of music and was replaced by vocalist Paul Bartzsch. Duncan would also part ways with the band prior to the release of their 2012 EP Projekt Herz. At this point, they had become quite established in Germany and Europe and had gained fans in North America despite having never toured there. Their third LP, 2013's Goldkinder, received a widespread release and charted well in Germany. Their fourth album, Wieder Geil!, arrived in 2015. ~ Timothy Monger

    Lübben, Germany

Similar Artists