The Hoax

About The Hoax

British blues-rock group the Hoax consisted of Jon Amor on guitar, Hugh Coltman on vocals and harmonica, Jess Davey on guitar, Robin Davey on bass, and Dave Raeburn on drums. The members were all young students of the blues and had played together since they were in their teens; songwriting and arrangements were worked out together by all five members. The Hoax began to attract attention while on tour with the Smokin' Joe Kubek Band around England, and Code Blue Records label chief Mike Vernon signed them to a deal. Vernon, a veteran producer who had worked with John Mayall, Eric Clapton, Ten Years After, Savoy Brown, and David Bowie, was impressed by the maturity in the band's playing. Critics in England were also impressed with the band's prowess and heaped praise on the Hoax, comparing them to the Yardbirds, John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, and the Rolling Stones. Their debut album, Sound Like This, was released in 1995 on the Code Blue/Atlantic label (although Code Blue was later jettisoned by Atlantic), and the recording is a good reflection of their live shows. On it, the band pays tribute to its influences, such as Albert Collins, Albert King, the Fabulous Thunderbirds, Robben Ford, and Stevie Ray Vaughan. ~ Richard Skelly

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada