The Ghost of Paul Revere

Latest Release

Top Videos

About The Ghost of Paul Revere

Hailing from Portland, Maine, the Ghost of Paul Revere are an Americana group whose music is passionate and rooted in the folk tradition while possessing the energy and defiance of rock & roll. Their performances are dominated by acoustic instruments and forceful vocal harmonies, and their songs point to regional history as well as personal relationships and ideas. The band first won a national audience with their debut album, 2013's Believe, and earned greater critical and commercial success with 2017's Monarch. The Ghost of Paul Revere were formed in 2011 by three friends, Griffin Sherry on guitar and vocals, Max Davis on banjo and vocals, and Sean McCarthy on bass and vocals. After a year of playing out, the core trio added two additional musicians, Matt Baker on mandolin and Matt Young on mandolin and harmonica. This edition of the group recorded their first EP, a six-song effort titled North that was self-released by the band in 2012. Their first full-length album, 2013's Believe, saw them paring down to a quartet after Matt Young dropped out of the group. The album generated enough buzz that two of its songs, "After Many Miles" and "San Antone," scored more than two million plays each on leading streaming services. By 2014, the band was well-established enough to launch their own annual musical festival, Ghostland, designed to celebrate Maine's musical community. A collection of live tracks and rarities, Field Notes, Vol. 1, came out in 2015, as well as a digital-only live album, The Summer Knight Series. Pianist and drummer Tony McNaboe joined GOPR for the recording sessions for 2017's Monarch, a more mature and ambitious effort. McNaboe joined the band on the road on drums, while Ben Cosgrove also signed on to play piano and accordion; both musicians appeared on Field Notes, Vol. 2, which came out in 2019. 2020's Good at Losing Everything was the Ghost of Paul Revere's most polished effort to date, and in addition to Sherry, Davis, and McCarthy, the band's new lineup included Ben Cosgrove, drummer Chuck Gagne, and multi-instrumentalist Jackson Kincheloe. ~ Mark Deming

Portland, ME, United States of America

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada