The Dark Element
The Dark Element

The Dark Element

About The Dark Element

Melodic metal band the Dark Element formed after Frontier Records proposed that ex-Sonata Arctica guitarist Jani Liimatainen and former Nightwish singer Anette Olzon collaborate.
In 2016, Liimatainen began to write songs for their debut record. The pair worked remotely to create the album, eventually bringing in Jonas Kuhlberg on bass and Jani Hurula on drums to complete the first Dark Element record. The first time Liimatainen and Olzon met in person was on the video shoot for the lead single, "My Sweet Mystery." Their 11-track self-titled record was released in 2017, and the compositions featured Olzon's melodic vocal and Liimatainen's driven power chords. This was followed in 2019 by sophomore album Songs the Night Sings, which continued the duo's trademark synth-driven sonics. Previewed by its anthemic title track, the album saw release in late 2019 through Frontiers Music. ~ Bekki Bemrose


Similar Artists