The Boxcars
The Boxcars

The Boxcars

About The Boxcars

The Boxcars are a bluegrass outfit whose collective pedigree includes former members of Lonesome River Band, Union Station, Blue Moon Rising, and J.D. Crowe, among others. Formed in late 2009 by mandolinist Adam Steffey, guitarist Keith Garrett, banjoist Ron Stewart, bassist Harold Nixon, and fiddler John Bowman, the five veterans' seasoned presence was immediately apparent on their self-titled 2010 debut. Rising quickly, they were named both Instrumental Group of the Year and Emerging Artist of the Year at the 2011 International Bluegrass Music Awards (IBMA). Recording for North Carolinian label Mountain Home Music Company, the Boxcars followed up in 2012 with All In, which reached number 12 on Billboard's bluegrass chart. Their third album, It's Just a Road, arrived in 2013 and earned them their first Grammy nomination. The following year saw a lineup change as John Bowman left the group to pursue a career preaching and performing in churches. He was replaced by a newcomer, Dobroist Gary Hultman, who made his debut on their fourth LP, 2016's Familiar with the Ground. ~ Timothy Monger


Similar Artists