super extra bonus party
super extra bonus party

super extra bonus party

About super extra bonus party

At last count consisting of an impressive nine members, Kildare-born, Dublin-based outfit Super Extra Bonus Party do not nestle neatly into any particular genre category. Blending studious, glitch-filled electronics with an array of live instruments from the standard rock setup of guitar, bass, and drums to trumpets and synths, Super Extra Bonus Party's music ranges from lush ambient pop and breakcore to indietronic dance-rock and hardcore Portuguese rap, rarely missing a beat in between.
Super Extra Bonus Party formed in November of 2005 from a production, beats, and scratching duo known as the Illegal Kids, consisting of Newbridge natives Mike Donnelly and Cormac Brady. They expanded their number with the addition of multi-instrumentalist Fatz, aka Stephen Fahey (bass, guitars, trumpet), and later added Gavin Elsted (guitar, drums). Their debut release, Super Extra Bonus Party EP, was issued on the Alphabet Set Collective, an electronic-specific label based out of Dublin, in May of 2006. The critically applauded EP prominently featured Brazilian MC Rodrigo Teles, who would become the fifth member of Super Extra Bonus Party following the release of their debut album the following year.
Alphabet Set remained the outlet for the release of the LP Super Extra Bonus Party in April of 2007, recorded between bandmember day jobs in a kitchen in Dublin. The album featured a diverse array of guest musicians, including Irish ambient pop songstress Nina Hynes, singer Paul O'Reilly of electro poppers Channel One, and human beatbox White Noise, as well as two members of Kildare rockers Kill City Defectors. The album was met with considerable critical acclaim, and the subsequent series of tours saw the band support the likes of Bonde do Rolê, Cadence Weapon, and the Go! Team, while the lineup expanded to nine with the addition of guitarist Steve Conlon, drummer Gary Clarke, producer Seán Corcoran, and visual artist Niall Byrne.
The dawn of 2008 saw Super Extra Bonus Party nominated for the Choice Music Prize, the prestigious award highlighting the best in the previous year's underground Irish music. Super Extra Bonus Party beat out acts like Delorentos, Kíla, and Cathy Davey to walk away with the gong and the €10,000 in prize money. In April, the group released the Everything Flows EP, featuring the eponymous track with Channel One's Paul O'Reilly and remixes by Cadence Weapon, Nouveaunoise, and Jape, and began work on its second album. A collection of remixes of songs from Super Extra Bonus Party was also expected for release at some point in 2008. ~ Dave Donnelly

    Kildare, Ireland
    November, 2005

Similar Artists