Top Songs


Singles & EPs

About Slow Gherkin

With their third-wave influence of hyper-active ska-punk that the likes of The Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Operation Ivy first debuted, Slow Gherkin wanted to bring their own playful style of this genre to their native Santa Cruz, California. But like most ska-punk bands who's over crowded line-up could have the tendency to out number the audience, Slow Gherkin were also cursed with a revolving line-up since their 1994 debut; a line up that at one point featured ten members. Despite Slow Gherkin's membership change, the band still managed to release a split CD EP with Jeffries Fan Club in 1996, which was followed by the seven-inch "Death of A Salesman" that same year. Eventually signing a deal with Asian Man Records, the label released their first full-length Double Happiness in 1997. Following a tour across the United States in support of their releases, the line-up finally settled with James Rickman (vocals /guitar), AJ Marquez (vocals/ guitar), Zack Kent (bass), Zack Olson (drums) Phil Boutelle (alto sax), Ross Peard (tenor sax) Matt Porter (trombone) and Peter Cowan (keyboards). Continuing their relationship with Asian Man Records, Slow Gherkin released their second album Shed Some Skin in 1998. Roman Holiday followed in early 2001. ~ Mike DaRonco


Similar Artists