Potty Mouth
Potty Mouth

Potty Mouth

About Potty Mouth

With a sound rooted in moody '90s indie rock, the SST catalog, and some reflections of the spirit of the riot grrrl movement, Massachusetts' Potty Mouth emerged with their debut EP, Sun Damage, in 2012. An album and another EP later, their sophomore album, 2019's Snafu, presented a more streamlined sound without abandoning their punk roots.
After playing in a few bands, Ally Einbinder set out to form an all-girl punk band, frustrated with some of the limitations and discomforts she felt playing in groups without entirely female membership. Linking up with guitarist/vocalist Abby Weems, drummer Victoria Mandanas, and guitarist Phoebe Harris, bassist Einbinder formed Potty Mouth in mid-2011. They took their name from the title of an album by seminal riot grrrl band Bratmobile, though in interviews they denied any overt political agenda. Some members still in their teens, the group played out and recorded frequently, issuing the Sun Damage EP on 12" vinyl in 2012 and working toward the release of their 2013 full-length debut, Hell Bent.
Slimmed to a trio with the departure of Harris, Potty Mouth returned with an eponymous EP in 2015. Featuring more refined production by Courtney Ballard (Waterparks, Emarosa) and songwriting contributions from the likes of the Go-Go's Gina Schock and Death Cab for Cutie's Chris Walla, among others, their second album, Snafu, arrived on Get Better Records in 2019. ~ Fred Thomas

    Northampton, MA

Similar Artists