About OWEL

With a sound that's lush and unhurried, OWEL's cinematic, emo-tinged adult pop is steered by the soft-spoken lead vocals of Jay Sakong. The New Jersey-based group released their eponymous debut in 2013.

Before premiering as OWEL, core members established a similar sound as Old Nick with the lineup of Sakong (vocals, guitar, keys), Seamus O'Connor (guitar, keys, vocals), Ryan Vargas (percussion), Jane Park, and Daniel Zaleski, which released the EP I've Seen Colors in 2012. Changing their name to the more distinctive OWEL, the OWEL LP arrived in 2013. They followed that with the four-track Every Good Boy EP in 2015 before signing with Equal Vision Records for 2016's Dear Me, their second full-length. Proving they could reconstruct their sound live, OWEL released Live from Audio Pilot Studios in late 2017, returning with their third studio album, Paris, in the first half of 2019. By that time, the band consisted of Sakong, O'Connor, Vargas, Nunzio Moudatsos (bass, vocals), and Patti Kilroy (violin, keys, vocals).

    New Jersey

Similar Artists