New York Jazz Quartet

About New York Jazz Quartet

The original New York Jazz Quartet was founded by pianist Roland Hanna in the early '70s and consisted of flutist Hubert Laws, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Billy Cobham. That particular group went nowhere, but in 1974, Hanna had better luck with a lineup of flutist Frank Wess, bassist Carter (eventually replaced by George Mraz), and drummer Ben Riley; Richard Pratt and Grady Tate sometimes subbed for Riley. The straight-ahead band (which lasted into the early '80s) tended to emphasize originals and recorded for the Japanese Salvation label, Enja, Sonet, and Beehive (1981). ~ Scott Yanow


Similar Artists