About Megaherz

Neue Deutsche Härte band Megaherz was founded in Munich, Germany in 1993 by singer Alexander "Alexx" Wesselsky, guitarist Marc Bredtmann, bassist Josef Kalleder, drummer Tobias Trinkl, and keyboardist Christian Scharinger. The group recorded their first demo, Sexodus in 1994, followed by 1995's Herzwerk, whose Nine Inch Nails- and Rage Against the Machine-inspired sound brought the band to the attention of the Golden Core label, who signed them shortly afterwards. 1996 saw three bandmembers leaving the group: Bredtmann (who was replaced by Christian "X-Ti" Bystron in 1997), Kalleder (replaced by Werner "Wenz" Weninger in 1997), and Trinkl (replaced by Frank Gegerle in 1998). One year later, Scharinger left as well and was replaced by Jochen "Noel Pix" Seibert in 1998, leaving Wesselsky the sole remaining founding member of the band.

The group's proper debut album, the Rammstein-esque Wer Bist Du?, was released in 1997, followed by Kopfschuss in 1998 and Himmelfahrt in 2000. When Gegerle left in 2001, new drummer Jürgen Schlachter (ex-Keilerkopf) was brought into the band one year later, along with guitarist Oliver Pohl (ex-bassist of Twelve After Elf who had initially been brought in as a touring replacement for a sick Seibert). The band's fourth album, Herzwerk II, was released in 2002.

The next year saw another major change in the band's lineup: Pohl left after only one year, while keyboardist Seibert and singer Wesselsky left to form the new band Eisbrecher (which Pohl joined later in 2008). With new singer Mathias "Jablonski" Elsholz (another ex-Twelve After Elf recruit) on board, Megaherz released the album 5 through S.A.D. Music in 2004, but there were more lineup changes the next year: Elsholz left, while guitarist Roland Vencelj joined the group. Drummer Jürgen Schlachter exited the band as well and was replaced by the returning Frank Gegerle — who left again in 2007 and was replaced by new drummer Jürgen "Bam Bam" Wiehler. With new singer Alexander "Lex" Wohnhaas, who joined the group in 2007, Megaherz released their sixth full-length album, Heuchler. The lineup remained steady until in 2011, when second guitarist Vencelj left and was replaced by Christoph Klinke. The seventh album, Götterdämmerung, followed in 2012.

    Munich, Germany

Similar Artists