Loma Prieta
Loma Prieta

Loma Prieta

About Loma Prieta

Since 2005, Bay Area band Loma Prieta (named after the 1989 earthquake that devastated Northern California) have crafted a hardcore sound that straddles the line between melodic and uncomfortable, much like forebears At the Drive-In. Bandmembers included Valeriano Saucedo III (drums), Sean Leary (guitar and vocals), Brian Kanagaki (guitar and vocals), and James Siboni (bass). After releasing a pair of EPs — Our LP Is Your EP (2006) and Matrimony (2007) — the band released its debut album, Last City, on its own label, Discos Huelga, in May 2008. A combination of screamo and "emo violence," the harsh brutality and sonic dissonance brought to mind Massachusetts D.I.Y. punk band Ampere, who were also used to constant touring, self-booking gigs, and crashing at fans' homes. Loma Prieta's discordant grind sound was carried forward on both independently released follow-ups Dark Mountain and Life/Less. In 2011, the band signed with distributor Deathwish Inc. for its fourth release, the aptly titled I.V., which included melodic hooks underneath the frantic discord. A year later they released a split EP with Italian screamo band Raein, which was followed in late 2015 with the release of their fifth album, Self Portrait. ~ Neil Z. Yeung, Rovi

    San Francisco, CA

Similar Artists