About L'Impératrice

The whimsical, stylized disco of French alternative-dance group l'Impératrice was the brainchild of keyboardist/composer Charles de Boisseguin. After releasing a series of EPs beginning in 2012 and adding a dedicated singer in Flore Benguigui along the way, the band released its first album, Matahari, in 2018.

Formed by de Boisseguin in Paris in 2012, l'Impératrice self-released an eponymous debut EP the same year, leading to a deal with independent label microqlima records. The Paris-based label released the project's follow-up, the Sonate Pacifique EP, in 2014. In the meantime, the one-time solo effort grew to include second keyboardist Hagni Gwon, guitarist Achille Trocellier, bass player David Gaugué, and drummer Tom Daveau. They added vocalist Flore Benguigui in time for their third EP, 2015's Odyssée. Inspired by fans playing the record at the wrong speed, it was followed in 2016 by L'Empereur (Odyssée Slow Version). Another edition, this time arranged for acoustic guitar, violin, and cello, arrived in the form of Odyssée (Version Acoustique) in early 2017 before fourth EP Séquences and its companion release Séquences (Remixes) were issued later in the year. L'Impératrice made their full-length debut with Matahari, issued by microqlima in 2018.

    Paris, France

Similar Artists