Artist Playlists

About Ladytron

Although Ladytron emerged in parallel with the Y2K electroclash movement, the group are inclined toward retro-leaning ’80s synth-pop, highlighted by the dance-floor anthem “Playgirl” and the dark “Seventeen.” Naming themselves after a Roxy Music song, the quartet formed in 1999, when Liverpool-based producers and DJs Daniel Hunt and Reuben Wu teamed up with vocalists/keyboardists Helen Marnie and Mira Aroyo. Ladytron released a series of EPs in the lead-up to their 2001 debut album, 604, and its shadowy follow-up, Light & Magic. Their next LP, Witching Hour, featuring the gothic disco hit “Destroy Everything You Touch,” boasted a darker, beat-heavy sound that would align with and inform the group’s notable remixes for Nine Inch Nails and Goldfrapp and cowrites with Christina Aguilera. Ladytron continued to maintain an active DJ presence while tweaking and refining their synth-heavy sounds on future albums such as 2008’s Velocifero. After a long break in the 2010s, the band re-emerged with a 2019 self-titled album that was a throwback to their moodiest electro days.

Liverpool, England
Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada