Latest Release

Top Songs

Singles & EPs

Appears On

About Kaptan

Nashville-based singer/songwriter Andrew de Torres, aka Kaptan, is an ebullient performer known for a sparkling indie pop sound. Prior to recording as Kaptan, de Torres was a member of the similarly inclined indie outfits Danger Radio and the Scene Aesthetic. Born in 1985, de Torres grew up in Edmonds, Washington, where he first met future Danger Radio bandmate Nico Hartikainen while in middle school. By 2004, the Seattle-based outfit had added drummer Marvin Kunkel and released a debut album. A year later, de Torres formed the duo the Scene Aesthetic with Eric Kimberlin. Over the next several years, he split his time between the two bands, as well as starting work on his solo projects. After relocating to Nashville, Tennessee in 2012, he adopted the stage name Kaptan. Around this time, he also co-founded the South by Sea label with producer and songwriter Brandon Metcalf. In 2015 he released the Sprinter EP, featuring the song "Anywhere We Go." Another single, "Moving On," appeared in 2017. ~ Matt Collar

Edmonds, WA

Similar Artists