Geto Boys

Artist Playlists

About Geto Boys

With their politically minded and often controversial songs, Houston gangsta-rap pioneers Geto Boys put Southern hip-hop on the map. • Featuring founding members The Sire Jukebox, DJ Ready Red, Prince Johnny C, and Bushwick Bill, the group released its debut album, Making Trouble, in 1988. • After low album sales, Rap-a-Lot Records founder J. Prince put together a new version of Geto Boys featuring Bushwick Bill, Scarface, and Willie D. This would become known as the classic lineup. • In 1991, Geto Boys made their Billboard Hot 100 debut with the dark and paranoid “Mind Playing Tricks on Me,” from their third album, We Can't Be Stopped. The single peaked at No. 23. • By 1993, all three members had embarked on solo careers, but they reunited for 1996’s The Resurrection. The album reached No. 1 on Billboard’s Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart. • After another hiatus, Geto Boys released their seventh and final album, The Foundation, in 2005. Bushwick Bill died in 2019.

Fifth Ward, Houston, Texas, U.S.

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada