Eye Flys

Top Songs


Singles & EPs

About Eye Flys

A band dedicated to exploring the outer limits of heaviness, Eye Flys make music that's dark, intense, and powerfully hard-hitting. While not relying on unusually speedy tempos, Eye Flys otherwise take the traditional components of metal -- dense guitars, thick bass, thunderous drumming, barking vocals -- and turn the impact up to ten. Comprised of members of noted grindcore bands, Eye Flys finds them following a new creative direction that's slower and soupier but every bit as heavy on their debut album, 2020's Tub of Lard. Taking their name from a song by the Melvins (a major influence on their sound), Eye Flys was formed by guitarist Spencer Hazard, best known for his work in the band Full of Hell, and drummer Patrick Forrest, who previously was a member of Backslider. The two were interested in playing music that was forceful and uncompromising, but traded their usual roaring speed for something that was slower but no less bruising. To complete the lineup, they added Forrest's Backslider bandmate Jake Smith on guitar and vocals, while Kevin Bernsten of Triac came on board to play bass. It wasn't long before the new band worked up enough material for an EP, and they headed into the studio to record the six songs featured on their debut release, Context. Thrill Jockey Records struck a deal with the band to release the EP, and Context went out to listeners in September 2019, followed by a brief tour. In 2020 the band released their first full length offering, Tub of Lard, again with Thrill Jockey. ~ Mark Deming

United States of America

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada