About Defiled

Japanese death metal band Defiled was formed in Tokyo in 1992 and initially featured guitarist Yusuke Sumita, bassist Norihisa Fukuda, vocalist Masafumi Kitamura, and drummer Kouji Uchida, but the last two didn't make it past the group's self-financed debut EP from 1994, Defeat of Sanity. Their replacements were Hideki Fujimoto and Yuichi Ishiguro, respectively, but Defiled existed as little more than a domestic touring unit until 1999, when they finally earned an international deal with American Nightfall Records for the release of their first full album, Erupted Wrath. 2001's Ugliness Revealed (featuring temporary drummer Naoki Akamatsu) and 2003's Divination followed in due course and garnered mostly enthusiastic press to go with the group's numerous U.S. festival performances and equally positive comparisons to technical death titans like Gorguts and Suffocation. However, the buzz was short-lived, as instead of capitalizing on the success of Divination, the band decided to take a "creative break." That period of inactivity would last nearly eight years, ending with the release of 2011's Bill Metoyer-produced In Crisis, which was released via Season of Mist. After another extended break, this time only four years, the band returned with Towards Inevitable Ruin in 2016. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

April 1992

Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada