De La Tierra
De La Tierra

De La Tierra

About De La Tierra

De La Tierra is an all-star Latin-heavy metal supergroup whose sound walks the line between death metal and hook-laden hard rock. The band is comprised of guitarist Andreas Kisser of Sepultura, bassist Sr. Flavio from Los Fabulosos Cadillacs, drummer Alex González of Mana, and guitarist Andrés Giménez, former leader of A.N.I.M.A.L. Everybody sings.
Though the band's specific origins are somewhat murky, all members agree that the idea for the group began with a backstage conversation between González and Giménez in 2006. In 2011, while on tour, the pair met again, this time for dinner, and the pair had a formal discussion about forming a band -- a power trio. Giménez, however, desired another guitarist and contacted Kisser via email. He responded immediately with: "I am the band's guitarist."
After rehearsing whenever their schedules allowed, the band produced and recorded its self-titled debut album in Buenos Aires, Guadalajara, Sao Paulo, and Los Angeles, its lyrics entirely in Spanish or Portuguese. Their first single and video, "Maldita Historia," was issued by Roadrunner in November of 2013, followed by the eponymous full-length in January. The following year saw the band perform at the Rock in Rio festival. Their aptly named sophomore studio album, II, dropped in November, 2016. ~ Thom Jurek


Similar Artists