Top Songs


Music Videos

Singles & EPs


About Cola Jet Set

Cola Jet Set were one of a number of hyper-sweet indie pop outfits to grace the roster of Barcelona, Spain's Elefant Records in the early 2000s. Similar to labelmates La Casa Azul and Fitness Forever, the outfit's breezy, bouncy sound gave a heavy nod to zany bubblegum acts like the Banana Splits, the Archies, and the Monkees. Cola Jet Set formed in 2001, following the breakup of Los Fresones Rebeldes. The group was initially comprised of former Los Fresones Rebeldes members Felipe (guitar), Aarón (bass), and Cristina (guitar), in addition to Roge (drums) and La Monja Enana's Ana (vocals, keyboards). Cola Jet Set's debut single, Cosas Que No Se Olvidan (the first of the band's recordings to be produced by Guille Milkyway) was released on Subterfuge in 2002. The band's debut full-length, Contando Historias, followed in 2004; the album garnered favorable reviews, and the band rounded out the year on tour, sharing the stage with the likes of indie pop veterans Comet Gain and the Legends.

Aarón left the group soon after the album hit stores, prompting Cristina to take the reins as Cola Jet Set's bassist. Murcia's Sol took Cristina's place on guitar for a few months; she was ultimately replaced by Sant Cugat's Allicia. Following a brief hiatus, Cola Jet Set returned to the studio in 2006 and recorded a new single, Suena el Teléfono, which was released on Subterfuge the following year. The band underwent several major changes during this time: Roge amicably split with the band soon after the single was released; Barcelona's Joan came on board as Cola Jet Set's new drummer; and the band ultimately left Subterfuge, citing differences regarding the band's career. Elefant snapped up Cola Jet Set before 2007 came to a close.

The following year found Cola Jet Set making their first bid for the Eurovision Song Contest; their entry, "El Sueño de Mi Vida," made it to the preliminary stages of the competition in Spain. The band rounded out the year with a flurry of live shows and an album's worth of new recordings. Their second studio full-length, Guitarras y Tambores, was released on Elefant in early 2009. The group released singles in 2009 (En Esta Pista Ya No Se Puede Bailar), 2010 ("Suena el Teléfono"), 2011 (Lesson One: Listen & Repeat), and 2012 ("Quan Ve Nadal") before lineup shifts that saw Ana, Cristina, and Joan depart and Felipe's time taken up by commitments with the re-formed Los Fresones Rebeldes. When the group got back together to record, the bandmembers were Felipe on guitar, Alicia on lead vocals, Ruth on backing vocals and percussion, Toni on drums, Dani on bass, Manel on keyboards, and Matt on guitar. They resurfaced in September of 2015 with a single, "Fin del Mundo," then followed it up the next month with the album El Fin del Mundo, both on longtime label Elefant. ~ Margaret Reges

Similar Artists