Children of Bodom

Artist Playlists

About Children of Bodom

The black metal outfit Children of Bodom formed in Espoo, Finland, in 1993. Named in reference to one of the most notorious mass murders in Scandinavian history, the band was originally founded by singer/guitarist Alexi Laiho and drummer Jaska Raatikainen, with subsequent roster additions including guitarist Alexander "Ale" Kuoppala, bassist Henkka Blacksmith, and keyboardist Janne Wirman. The group's debut LP, Something Wild, was released in the U.S. in 1998; Hatebreeder followed a year later, and Follow the Reaper appeared in early 2001. Through subsequent records, relentless touring, and a wild stage show, Children of Bodom developed legions of fans globally well into the 21st century. They registered big-selling albums like 2008's Blooddrunk and 2011's Relentless Reckless Forever. The band split up in 2019, and Laiho died the following year. The archival release A Chapter Called Children of Bodom [Final Show in Helsinki Ice Hall, 2019] appeared in 2023.

Espoo, Finland
Select a country or region

Africa, Middle East, and India

Asia Pacific


Latin America and the Caribbean

The United States and Canada