Carter Burwell
Carter Burwell

Carter Burwell

About Carter Burwell

Alternately haunting and dark, whimsical and bright, experimental or pastoral, Oscar-nominated film composer Carter Burwell is closely associated with independent film and particularly Joel and Ethan Coen, having scored all but one of their first 15 films. Burwell's first feature was the 1984 thriller Blood Simple, the debut of the Coen brothers. He also wrote the music for the feature-length debuts of Spike Jonze (1999's Being John Malkovich) and Martin McDonagh (2008's In Bruges). In 2008, his compositions could also be heard in the blockbuster teen romance Twilight. Burwell has earned several Academy Award nominations, including 2015's Carol and 2017's Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. Released in 2021, The Tragedy of Macbeth marked his 16th feature with Joel Coen.

    New York, NY
  • BORN
    November 18, 1954

Similar Artists